Hello…is there anybody there?

9 Jul

Im sure about all of you have thought that I forgot about this blog project…I didn’t.  Turns out, recovering from this trip took me the WHOLE week.  I went to bed by like 9PM and was up at 5:30 everyday…but my brain was tired, and I just couldn’t seem to make myself be interesting.

Today, though, is a new day…and I am going to try to be interesting!

Before we travel back in time and half way across the world though, I have to show you what I just saw outside my house.

Yes, that is a turkey…crossing the road…seriously!  I apologize for the crappy photo…but I was afraid to get too close….visions of being chased by a turkey danced through my head and well, I would never live that down with my neighbors!

So, I took this as a sign…to continue writing about my trip to Turkey {see the connection?!} but seriously, a turkey crossing the road?! WOW!

Anyway, where was I?  Oh yes, we had just finished Day 1 {the worst day of the trip}, and arrived in Konya at Ilker’s parents house.  It dawned on me that yall might appreciate a map for some geographical sense of where we were and where we came from.  Yes?

So far…we had traveled from Istanbul to Eskisehir to Konya.

Did that help?  I hope so.

So, back to Day 3…this day was very low key and actually we slept most of the day.  The highlight of this day was when Ilker told me he was going to help his mom cut a pumpkin.  I finished the page of my book, and walked in to watch.  This is what I saw!

The family then worked together to peel and cube the pumpkin that would be made into the most delicious dessert!

One of the things that I really took away from this trip is how significant every part of the day is, in their culture.  Families work together to create and uphold traditions, to be economical, and teach and learn.  It really made me aware of how wasteful we are in our house, both with stuff and our time.  It is something that I really took to heart, and plan to spend some time trying to fix this fall.  If you are still around, I think I will also share that journey!

So Day 3, was pretty uneventful-Thank God!  But on Day 4, I go on my first Turkish shopping trip {to outfit the hubby for big day No. 4} and see the in-laws new house {yes! I have a house tour}.  If you’re lucky, I’ll be back this afternoon for that update 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Hello…is there anybody there?”

  1. Mimi July 9, 2011 at 11:52 am #

    Jacqui, If I haven’t already told you – You are Quite a writer! I look forward to read what you write. I like it as much as Eat Pray etc. and think you could publish – If not a book, at
    least a magazine story. Keep it up! love ya!

    • beingjacquio July 9, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

      aww thanks Mimi…that is such a lovely compliment! xoxo…love you too!

  2. Margaret O'Neill July 10, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

    Love the journey, and I am looking forward to more of your adventures!

    Love you bunches.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Anonymous - August 4, 2011

    […] I saw the turkey again […]

Leave a Reply

