Fast Food Nation…Not Here!

14 Sep

A couple of weeks ago, I started reading Fast Food Nation…and it has literally changed my life!

This book is astounding people, the information is overwhelmingly disgusting…it has changed my entire point of view about eating out.  I sort of felt this way when I read Skinny Bitch, however, the changes that book wanted to incite in people was too much for me.  Giving up cheese…just not an option.

This book, however, has the tone of informing.  Eric Schlosser’s writing is so matter-of-fact and laden with anger; but there is also this desire to inform and uncover the truth.  I would encourage EVERY SINGLE AMERICAN to read this book…and to really take the information to heart.

I wanted to share some of the facts and figures that have really spoken to me thus far…

A generation ago 75% of the money that Americans spent on food was spent on groceries and food to be prepared into meals at home; today 50% of the money spent on food is spent on eating out.

96% of American school children can identify Ronald McDonald {I am curious how many of them can identify the President}

A person can now go from birth to the grave without ever spending money supporting independent/local businesses.  Everything is commercialized!

Aside from salad greens and tomatoes, most food from a fast food restaurant is delivered frozen, canned, or freeze dried.

The foods we eat have been changed more in the past 40 years…than in the previous 40,000 years.  “Fast food” has been designed to taste good

The US has more prison inmates than full-time farmers.

The Federal Government does NOT have the power to recall contaminated/potentially lethal meat.

So, as I said….this book has really gotten me thinking about supporting local farmers, supporting independent businesses, not supporting fast food, and focusing on our eating habits as a whole.  The Farmers Market in Syracuse is absolutely unbelievable.  Seriously it is my most favorite thing to do in the summer, and whenever I think of leaving it, I kind of want to cry.   It is mine and Ilker’s number one date very week {but more on the later}  I found this website, and urge yall to look for local farmers markets, and support your local farmer, and each local produce, and enjoy! http://www.localharvest.org/

Leave a Reply

