Niagara Falls, NY {Cave of the Winds}

27 May

After getting off the Maid of the Mist, we went to a few overlooks to get some different viewpoints of the falls.  Some more pretty pictures…

Horse Shoe Falls

Me

my handsome hubby

Horse Shoe Falls

This looks like something I would want in my backyard

together 🙂

Then we went to the Cave of the Winds, which is basically a set of wooden steps that you can walk up, and be 20 feet from Bridal Veil Falls.  My favorite part about Cave of the Winds….the awesome “slip proof” sandals they give you.

Seriously awesome sandals

and you get to keep them…I would lying if I told you that I was not SUPER excited about this!

They also give you a poncho, this time it was yellow.

This is my favorite picture of us 🙂

Unfortunately, my poncho was defective {or maybe I am a defective poncho wearer-we’re not really sure}  While trying to tighten my poncho around my face, I somehow ripped the shoulder.  At this point, it was too late to go back and ask for another poncho.  In a true McGuyver moment, I remembered that I was chewing gum, and used that to try to hold my poncho back together…and it actually kind of worked.  While my shoulder would now stay dry…what I didn’t account for was the massive wind that blew at us while we were walking up the stairs.  The first gust of wind, blew up my poncho and it got caught on the bag which held my shoes and my camera.  As result, I was soaking wet from the waist down!

after getting off the elevator {and going 175 ft down into the gorge} this is what we were greeted by

such a sexy get-up

those white specks: ALL seagulls!

Pretty view

Bridal Veil Falls

Horse Shoe Falls

American Falls {furthest away} and Bridal Veil {closest}

See the torn poncho 😦

Due to the defective poncho, we didn’t actually go all the way up to hurricane deck {where you are 20 ft away from the falls and the conditions are equal to those of a hurricane!}  This was mostly because we were so blasted by wind and water walking up to the first landing…that we didn’t even really look at the falls.  And so we wondered, what was the point…

So, soaking wet and freezing, we went to the last landing, where we looked out over the tops of the BridalVeil and American Falls, shot one last picture together, and said goodbye to the friends {and hot tour guide}!

Shot out to the Canadian Side

Shot down the tops of the American and Bridal Veil Falls

Goodbye Niagara Falls

So that was our trip!  This was actually the first trip, like this, that Ilker and I had ever taken together!  I can’t wait to take so many more.  And I leave you with this last story.  On the way home {drinking another horrible cup of Tim Hortons coffee,but now out of a SUPER cute travel mug, in order to avoid the horrible cups} I asked Ilker if he thought that the fish get scared when they go over the falls.  He laughed, but I pose the question to each of you….

3 Responses to “Niagara Falls, NY {Cave of the Winds}”

  1. Mimi May 27, 2010 at 4:05 pm #

    That looks like so much fun. It makes me want to see it again

    • beingjacquio May 28, 2010 at 1:19 am #

      Oh Mimi, we had the best time! It is seriously one of the best day trip/vacations I have ever had! It was so beautiful, and amazing….absolutely LOVED it. Next time we go back I want to stay in one of the hotels with the heart shaped hot tubs 🙂

  2. Colleen March 3, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

    OMG, your poncho story with the gum is classic! So funny – sounds like something I would do! I just came across this web page because I Google Imaged The Cave of the Winds and saw the picture of the sandals…i LOVE them and was trying to find out if we will get to keep them…excited to find out we will!!! lol…I’m taking my kids there this summer…this will be my first time and I can’t wait!!!

Leave a Reply

