I did it!

5 May

So, after we purchased our beautiful, new couch last November, I knew that I wanted a gallery wall behind it.

First joint grown-up purchase: ridiculously comfy and luxurious sofa!

Since Ilker and I live far away from all of our family, I loved the idea of surrounding our living room with photos of all of our loved ones, or things made by our loved ones…so we can always feel the love!

Unfortunately, this proved to be quite the task!  First I had to acquire enough frames…and frames are expensive!  So I began frequently a local thrift store and picking up frames there!  If you are willing to put a little elbow grease into making them prettier, this is relatively fantastic deal…frames range from $.29-$2.00…making them totally affordable!

Once I had enough frames I had to figure out how to arrange them, and mask them out.  Now by nature, I am not too meticulous a person, but I channeled my inner Ilker and measured and taped off, so that our wall{s} were properly masked and ready to go!

But, after all the measuring and taping off, my motivation was gone for the day….and we were surrounded by our taped off gallery wall for almost a month!

Finally, this past weekend, I buckled down and tackled the wall!  This was actually quite interesting, as I had to remember which frames went where!  Finally, our frames are up!  Some of them still need some tweaking, and I think that I want to paint/purchase more black dark brown frames.

All in all I am really pleased with it….next step picking out and printing our new photos for the frames!

…documenting my process 🙂

Our masked-out gallery wall

the boys are “studying” while I am tackling the wall

Finally got all the nails in and tape torn off {which actually wasn’t a great idea because I had already kind of forgotten where everything was supposed to go!}

Martha was in charge of wrangling the tape!

One finished wall!!!

The other finished wall!

One more fun perspective!!!

**Please ignore the wonky pictures/stock photos in some of the frames….this weekend’s project will be picking out photos!

One Response to “I did it!”

  1. Maggieo629 May 27, 2010 at 3:05 am #

    Looks amazing, Jacqui!

Leave a Reply

