{an attempt to} make under my life

27 Apr

I don’t remember how exactly, but I discovered the blog MakeUnder My Life a few weeks ago.  I think it was fate…our meeting.  You see, I come from a family of collectors.  We love stuff, and seem to have a hard time getting rid of it once we have acquired it.  I form a sentimental attachment to, well everything.   Generally, this has led to cluttered homes filled to the brim with things that make me smile and remind me of fun times and people that I love.

However, my new husband….not so into clutter  AT ALL! {unless it is a cardbox that once housed an appliance, but more on that later!}  So the compromises have begun, and I have tried to de-clutter our {ok mostly my} life.

The one thing I love about Jess’ blog is that she talks about how everything should cycle.  Out with the old, to make room for the new.  In the spirit of cycling, she has exfoliation Fridays.  Once a week she {and all of her fabu readers} de-clutter an area of their life.  Its small.  Not a 5 hour closet clean out, or a house wrecking demo…but small areas of your life and home that are examined at the end of the week and something has got to go!

I love this idea, and all of its baby-stepness.  Its manageable, and while it won’t give us instant change…it will definitely give us improvement.  And we will move toward a less cluttered house, with less of an emphasis on stuff.  We will focus on keeping and collecting meaningful objects…and recycling them once they are no longer meaningful.

So my fellow STUFF collectors….go check out MML NOW…and start exfoliating!

2 Responses to “{an attempt to} make under my life”

  1. Mimi April 27, 2010 at 3:23 pm #

    Jacqui, It’s better to start now, because it just starts piling up.
    rather than throw everything find new purposes, like a stack of
    books can raise a small lamp to the height you need.
    I keep a day book and use it as a diary, plus I record all books
    and authors, I add receipes that i cut out (and never cook)
    Pics. from magazines of things I want to make., paint colors and
    room decor. and all. I’ve kept a day book for years and there
    are some pages where I haven’t written anything and those are
    the ones I fill with my ideas and rememberances. Love ya, mimi

  2. angie April 28, 2010 at 5:48 pm #

    I love this idea! I wanted to start fresh with no clutter in my new apartment, but was very unsuccessful! So, maybe small projects weekly will help. If you are anything like me, and I’m pretty sure you are, I look at a big pile of clutter, panic, and walk away.

Leave a Reply

